How to add sideways driving with X-Drive

We are driving with X-Drive and want to be able to drive sideways. We currently have tank drive but can not get a program that will also drive the robot sideways.

Below is our programming for tank drive

while (true){;

LeftFront.setVelocity(Controller1.Axis3.position(), percent);
RightFront.setVelocity(Controller1.Axis2.position(), percent);
LeftBack.setVelocity(Controller1.Axis3.position(), percent);
RightBack.setVelocity(Controller1.Axis2.position(), percent);
LeftFront.spin(forward);
RightFront.spin(forward);
LeftBack.spin(forward);
RightBack.spin(forward);

wait(5, msec);
}

If anyone could help us get a program to drive sideways, it would be much appreciated.

I have very little coding knowledge so I’m not sure how to do this but as a driver with 5+ years of experience I would not use tank drive for an X-drive. It can work fine, but from past experience, it is easier to drive and strafe if you have one joystick for Forwards-backwards and Left-Right, and then the other joystick for spinning left and right

https://vexforum.com/t/holonomic-drives-2-0-a-video-tutorial-by-cody/27052/1

I found this on the forum, I hope it is helpful

2 Likes

I agree this season I had an x drive, and the controls I found worked best for me were using one stick for strafing/forwards/backwards movement movement and the other for turning. while these controls can be a little confusing at first I quickly got the hang of it.

Secondly, it is important to understand how the x drive does this movement. The more commonly used term is strafing and it is done on a x drive by spinning motors that are opposite one another. So if we understand this we can understand how to do the same in our code. as such

lfPower = (power + turn + strafe);
lbPower = (power + turn - strafe);
rfPower = (power - turn - strafe);
rbPower = (power - turn + strafe);