How to expand a vex team

Hi there, so my school’s vex team has been getting smaller and smaller over the years due to people not joining our team. We started competing in vex in 2010 and we we’re able to make it to states twice over the years and states every year until the last two seasons. I am currently a sophomore and our team went from having 6 robots competing with over 15 people last year to now only two robots and three people left in our vex team. We started off the season with many freshman joining our team, but they all quit after we told them that they need to build robots more advanced than a clawbot which they followed instructions on building. For the next season, I will be the most experienced person on our team as the rest of the team will be graduating. I am trying to expand our team and get people interested in vex next year. Do you guys have any suggestions to promote our team/have people join. Also, how do you guys think will make it easier for vex newbies to join vex and compete?
Any suggestions/ideas are welcomed :slight_smile:

(Not important)
When I joined the team, nobody helped me and no one wanted to be in a team with me, so I was a one-man team trying to learn vex and be competitive at the same time. I went from building a robot entirely out of steel for TP to building a 6bar towards the end of the season. There were many moments which I wanted to give up as I thought it was too hard.

3 Likes