How to make a button that both starts and stops a program? (RobotC)

Trying to write a code that allows one bumpSwitch to start and stop a program.
So, when I press it starts the code and when I press it again it stops the program.

I’m no expert coder, but I think you could have it set a flag to true when the button is pressed the first time, and then only if the flag is true when it is pressed does it stop the program. Does that make sense?

This is what a loop is good for. By putting the program in the loop, and breaking the loop when bump switch is pressed, you can allow the program to end.
Psuedocode would be something like this:
If bumpSwitch = True
then
while (bumpSwitch = false)
runProgram
break
If anyone can one up me, they are more than welcome, as i am not the programmer.

I have tried using the while function or loop function similar to:

while (bumpSwitch=1)

//run program

while(bumpSwitch=0)
//stop program

This program works when I hold the button. What I want is, when I press the bumpSwitch once, it starts the program. Then if I press it again, it stops running the program.

Thank you for your help

You need something more like

bool flagBumpSwitch = 0

if (bumpSwitch == 1)
flagBumpSwitch = 1

if flagBumpSwitch == 1

//run program

if (bumpSwitch ==1 && flagBumpSwitch == 1)
flagBumpSwitch = 0

if flagBumpSwitch == 0

//stop program

At least, I think that’s the kind of thing you are looking for.

I don’t know RobotC very well, so there may be an easier way to do it, but I believe that is one way to achieve what you are looking for. There are better coders than me who could probably work magic with like 2-3 lines, but I think this should work for your purposes.

Hi, I am the programmer for my team.

Try something like this.

if(bumpswitch == 1) {
     if(programRunning == true) {
           programRunning = false;
}
else {
programRunning = true;
}
}