I’m new to HS robots, what should I know that’s super important?

I’ve done VEX IQ for 2 years, got to states twice and went to Worlds last year. I am team captain of my team this year for V5 and I feel like my team doesn’t know much to do. We don’t even know where to start with the robot. We have a drivetrain/function robot(mostly haha). But we don’t know a lot of things like pistons, autonomous (only a little), and everything other than screwing in pieces. And it’s very overwhelming going to competitions and seeing all these great robots compared to ours. We’re freshman btw

Does anyone have any recommendations on how to start learning everything?

Thanks!

You might find the VEX Library for V5 useful for learning about new parts, techinques, and programming.

Other than that, you came to the right place! The VEX Forum is a great resource to connect with other members of the community to gather information about how other teams do things.

7 Likes

I’ve generally found teams are excited to brag about their robots at competitions. Ask them about 1 thing you think is really cool on their robot. Ask if they’d be willing to be sounding boards after the competition as you build a similar component.

2 Likes

A tip I have for you is to google around or peruse the forum looking at bot designs. You can get some great inspiration from stuff that is out there. Getting a look at a good bot is really helpful when starting out.

1 Like

@Mentor_355v what do you mean by sounding boards? And thanks for the advice, we’ll do that in our next competition

Someone to bounce ideas off of. If you want to build something similar to what another team has, being able to talk to them about problems you encounter along the way, they may already have solved and may be able to guide you through. I’ve found teams more likely to provide this feedback if they know you’ve already tried things and got stuck. So not:

What steps did you take to build your Super Awesome Component.

But: