I’m trying to get back into VEX and have several questions:

1. I get the impression I’m almost alone in that I’m a hobbyist. It seems like everyone on these forum has attended or will attend some kind of competition.

2. Figuring out how to assemble a robot is more difficult than I thought. Definitely not as easy as legos. I’m thinking I’m going to need to cut and bend the hardware to be able to make the robots. Do all of you cut the hardware or am I missing something? What I don’t like about this is that the cut and bent parts might not be usable for future projects.

3. Which are good tools to do the cutting and bending? (Especially since it is important to get perfect 90-degree angles when bending the metal)

4. Do you use CAD programs to figure out what to do before committing time and cutting up the hardware. It seems to me that the point of the VEX system was to enable “quick and dirty” builds where CAD was not needed but I’m finding it is pretty time consuming to figure out how to assemble a robot just by trial and error. Especially if I’m going to be cutting hardware. Plus, the CAD models have already been done, it is just a matter of assembling the robot in the PC. Then again, this would be pretty time consuming as well. Is it worth it?

5. The price of components goes from reasonable to prohibitive when shipping is considered. (Living in Puerto Rico does not help). Is there any other place to buy specific components like clutches, or just a pair large wheels?

6. Does anyone trade? I have an unopened boxed set of wheels and need more gears and/or the ultrasonic sensor. I also have two unopened limit switches I might part with. (already have 2 broken ones I’m hoping I can fix).

7. Are there instructions somewhere on how to assemble other robots besides the squarebot, protobot, and tumbler? (I found out after a couple of hours of assembly that I didn’t have the gears to make the protobot. I do not know if I have what I need for the tumbler.