Inertial sensor programming questions

I’m wondering if anyone can teach me how to make a pid loop for auto balancing with v5 inertial sensor. note this is my first year of vex and i’m the pro grammer for my team

How much do you already know about programming? If you don’t know much, I suggest you go through example codes in Vexcode V5 to learn a bit since it should be fairly easy to read the code. Also, try looking in the forum for any similar topics.

I guess, you can start with Conor’s PID tutorial: VEXCode PID Tutorial

Then, you can look at more PID references: PID course/tutorial - #4 by _Colossus

The code itself is going to be straight forward - you can copy it from one of the examples and use IMU accelerometer tilt as your input. It is tuning of PID coefficients that is going to be challenging. Robot with the platform are going to have so much inertia that you will need robust calculation of derivative to make it settles fast and reliable.

3 Likes

so actually I already watched that video and made the pid loop, but iI don’t know what to actually put in it to make the motors spin the right direction when the senor is tilted

also yes I went to a week long rookie camp at my school and learned lots about c++ coding. I can program driver control pre auton and autonomous, but I can’t quite figure out what to put in the pid loop

oh, and I use some sort of vexcode pro competition template that does not have smart config. plus it only has robot. config. vex.h and main.cpp,and i find it quite interesting that it does not have the other stuff

double kp=0.0;
double ki=0.0;
double kd=0.0;

int error;
int previouserror;
int derivative;
int totalerror;

bool enableabpid = true;
int ab_pid(){

while(enableabpid){
int LrwPosition=Lrw.position(degrees);
int RrwPosition=Rrw.position(degrees);
int RfwPosition=Rrw.position(degrees);
int LfwPosition=Rrw.position(degrees);

previouserror=error;
vex::task::sleep(20);
}

return 1;

};

void autonomous(void) {