Instead of launching the ball to turn the flag, is it allowed for the robot to hold the ball and use the ball to push the flag. (the robot never physically contacted the flag)
Instead of launching the ball to turn the flag, is it allowed for the robot to hold the ball and use
No, you cannot use a ball to push a high flag because that would require your robot to extend outside 18"
vertically, while outside of the expansion zone, which is illegal according to SG2.
Boy do I have the thread for you! https://vexforum.com/t/toggling-the-flag-with-a-ball-rule/47834/1
Actually, it doesn’t require that violation, despite this misunderstanding by those writing the rules. I’ve come up with a few ways to do it without violating the 18-inch height limit. The critical part is that the rules specifically say you’re not allowed to touch the ball when flipping the high flags.
Firstly, you will break the expansion limit, secondly, a ball cannot be touching a robot in order to score a high flag
Maybe if I ask it again, it will become legal. Without regard to what the Game Manual clearly says…