Intake Arm Advice

Hi! My team is thinking of putting our intakes on arms, and I was wondering what design tips you guys can offer to make the arms stable and avoid bending or warping

Would you recommend using 1 motor or 2 for the arms? I feel like 1 would make sure they’re perfectly in sync, but might also not be strong enough

1 Like

for lifting them, one is strong enough, geared 1:7 with hs axles. For the intakes, 2 is like the only choice or at least meta

1 Like

yeah, we already have the intakes built, we’re just building arms for them

make sure to make them vertical, and supported/braced well. Just have them on the same hs axle and you should be fine.

how would you recommend bracing the posts to the base? i’ve had trouble connecting stuff diagonally b/c the holes don’t line up.

PS i’m sure there’s some easy way to do this, this is my first year in VEX and i don’t know all the building techniques

you mean the c-channel stuff to the base? a triangle brace and a brace with c-channels to the base.

1 Like

is it easy to get the screw holes to line up? I haven’t been able to make diagonal connections work

so a c-channel connecting the upwards c-channel towers to the base, and a triangle brace, or have the sides connected to the base, like this: (it starts at a certain time so click)

1 Like

ok, thanks!
20 characters

1 Like

make sure your arms cannot flex. if you box the c channels on your arms, and have really good bracing between the two, you don’t even have to power both sides, you can just power one side and it will be able to pull the other side up with it without causing any leaning.

2 Likes

by boxing you mean overlapping two c-channels facing each other right? basically making a tube?

1 Like