Hey guys. I wanted to make sure this is legal.
We have our preload sitting on our tile. We go do other things, then come back to the tile. If our robot is following all the rules (i.e, not touching the bump) would I be able to intake the pre-load sitting on the tile?
The robot would be on the gray tile and the starting tile when I’m moving it to intake the pre-load. Is this legal?
I can’t find on the rules where it is illegal, but I wanted to make sure before tomorrow. Let me know if you need more description. Thanks
I’ve done this before, I haven’t had any problems with it with the refs. Although I would still be sure that your robot is following all the rules and whatnot.
Do you mean that you manually put the ball in the robot? Or you move the robot by hand to intake it?
We would move the robot by hand to intake it. The robot would be intaking and we would position the intake towards the buckyball so it would be intake it.
Please quote any rule that would not allow this.
I saw this at a recent competition and the refs never said anything about it, so I believe that it would be legal.
However, I would still check with the refs before each match because there are some refs that are more lenient about the rules than others.
I was head ref at a tournament back in November, and here’s what I would say:
"Please familiarize yourself with SG4, specifically the bolded parts below:
<SG4> During the Autonomous Period, Drivers and Coaches may handle their own Robot while the Robot is in contact with their own Alliance Starting Tile (i.e. the tile the Robot started the match on), and
not touching the Bump, within the following restrictions.
i. Drivers and Coaches may only interact with a Robot if it is touching their own Alliance Starting Tile and no part of the Robot is touching a gray foam tile, except the interaction allowed in
ii. If any part of a Robot is touching a grey foam tile, the only interaction that will be allowed is to bring the Robot fully into the legal Alliance Starting Tile, into a legal position as per <SG4i>
iii. After any legal interaction with the robot by Drivers and Coaches, and prior to the robot attempting to score or interact with Game Objects, the robot must be in a position such that it is touching the legal Alliance Starting Tile and no part of the Robot is touching a gray foam tile; a legal position as per <SG4i>. i.e. Before the Robot leaves the Alliance Starting Tile, Drivers
and Coaches may not be touching the robot. If Drivers and Coaches touch the Robot again, it must be touching a legal Alliance Starting Tile and it must immediately be brought fully back onto the tile.
iv. Drivers and Coaches may only interact with a Robot if they are on or in the general vicinity of the Alliance Robot Interaction Spot that corresponds to the Alliance Starting Tile the Robot is on. During contact with the Robot, the Drivers or Coaches may not intentionally manipulate or modify the position of any Scoring Objects relative to the Robot’s overall system, either by direct hand contact or indirect contact via the Robot. (i.e. it is acceptable to change the orientation of a Robot that includes Scoring Objects in it as long as the position of the elements relative to the Robot is not changed).
Drivers or Coaches also may not change the configuration of the Robot in any way other than in the act of fixing the Robot (i.e. it is okay to reposition the robot relative to the field, but it is not okay to manually lift up the Robot’s arm, unless you are in the act of a repair). Any changes to the Robot’s configuration performed during the act of repair must be reversed before the Robot can leave the Alliance Starting Tile. The intent of this rule is to allow teams to fix Robots that are unable to move, to reposition and/or reorient
Robots, and to activate additional autonomous modes by interacting with the Robot via sensors or buttons.
The intent of this rule is not to allow teams to manipulate their Robot in such a way that they are controlling the Robot via human contact or creating motions that lead to scoring.
" implies that the robot may not interact with game objects until
after legal interaction (you touching your robot).
" states that you may not intentionally use your contact with the robot to interact with game objects.
“Therefore, it is
illegal to do the action you have described. The consequence for this action could be a disqualification if it affects the outcome of the match, as determined by the head referee.”
Hope that helps!