I’m pretty sure I’ve seen other teams do this and I also brazed through the rule book and didn’t see anything prohibiting it.
What are you thinking is illegal?
Are you worried about double possession? VRC doesn’t consider a robot pushing a triball to be considered possession unless it is with a concave surface, which is not the case. I’m just confused why the alliance ball is positioned there, since that doesn’t line up with the starting position in the manual…
Right now you are on red far side for autonomous so you would be scoring the red triball as a red robot in the red goal. If your question pertains to the blue triball, that triball would be red. You also would not be able to start with that triball in your intake. Without seeing a full, legal autonomous or a more specific question no one can help you.
The fact that I have a triball on the outside of the robot and in the intake.
Well, that’s your answer.
If something is not banned in the rulebook or q&a, it is legal. Teams should (it’s on the inspection rubric) have good knowledge of this.
Can you please elaborate on this? I wasn’t aware that it mattered. I just thought that as long as it was on the end tiles, and the triball was touching the robot it didn’t matter.
This is the exact starting map for an Over Under match. You can have one triball preloaded into the robot. At the start of the match, all of the triballs on the field must be in this exact position.
In the video, the blue alliance ball on the map should not have been there. You can either have the alliance balls as matchloads or preloads, but they don’t begin on the field.
Its scoring points for the other team but other than that yuh its good.
I am a referee at tournaments in Wisconsin. If you are on the blue team, this auton is illegal. If you are on the red team, this auton is fine. Per SG8 your robot can not break the plane of your opponents goal at any time during autonomous, this includes the triangle above the red horizontal bar created by the bar of the net. The diagram for Goal in the Game Specific Definitions section of the game manual shows this triangle well. If your intake goes above the horizontal bar and within the space of that triangle, and the goal in not your alliance’s, your robot has broken the plane and therefore violated SG8.
This is the Image I mentioned in the above comment, as describe the plane extends above the horizontal pipe, breaking that plane on your opponent’s goal at any time during autonomous is a violation.
Double possession and other things should be fine, but the preload doesn’t look like it starts touching the bot and you also broke the plane of the goal.
Matchloads can start on the field as long as they are contacting the robot (see <SG4>).
How did that green triball get into your intake in the first place? The match loads cannot be used as preloads, so unless your auton gets that triball from somewhere else, I do not see how this could be achieved.
Each Robot gets one Alliance Triball as a Preload. Prior to the start of each Match each Alliance Triball / Preload that is used must be placed such that it is:
-
Contacting one Robot of the same Alliance color as the Preload
-
Not contacting the same Robot as another Preload
-
Fully within the field perimeter.
I understand how the alliance triball started in that position, since it was in contact with the robot. However, doesn’t this violate part 2 of since it is contacting the same robot as another Preload? The green triball is definitely a preload, and the alliance triball is required to start touching the robot, so I don’t think this is a legal strategy.
You only get 1 preload. You can intake another triball on the field and put that in the goal, but only 1 preload.
Yeah, I somehow completely missed the fact that the robot starts with two triballs. So unless the robot picks up the green triball from somewhere on the field this would be illegal.
This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.