Is this plowing or possession?


In this image, the red bot is pulling two triballs with its wings backwards. The wings form a concave surface with the bot at the corners, but the triballs are in contact with the flat part of the wings, not the corner. Is this plowing or possession?

3 Likes

It is plowing, as the triballs are contacting the flat portion of the wings, and not the concave part (nor through a chain of triballs). The team seems to not intend to be possessing, and if the robot turns, the triballs likely will not move with the robot. However, once it goes to that corner, I would consider it possession.

6 Likes

You said it yourself, its plowing because ur pushing triballs with a flat surface. :+1:

2 Likes

I feel like the possetion rules are very confusing. In the prevoius seasons, have there been ā€œbadā€ rules?

1 Like

Think of it this way: is the team intending to control multiple triballs in way that is not plowing (such as turning with 3 triballs being carried through the turn)? And in the words of the GDC: will the triballs turn with the robot? (or is the robot intending to turn?) I get your confusion though, as discerning someone’s ā€œintentionsā€ (aka mind reading) gets very hard for the GDC to give a black and white ruling on.

Could you elaborate (confusion causing, conflicting, ā€œboringā€ rules, etc.)? There may have been some rules that the GDC did not foresee the consequences of (such as that nice horizontal expansion in the Spin Up reveal video versus the ref’s nightmare of string shooters). I myself have not been around very long, but some mentors here have good memory of that.

1 Like

lol… that’s an understatement…

but to be fair, not so much of ā€œbadā€ rules, but rules that can be confusing or open for various interpretations.

5 Likes

that is what I had in mind

Sorry, there’s an EXACT copy of this on the q/a and the ruling was POSSESSION.

2 Likes

https://www.robotevents.com/VRC/2023-2024/QA/1610
I know it probably isn’t the exact one (could you post the link please?), but the GDC defines plowing as:
ā€œPlowing - A Robot / Triball status. A Robot is considered to be Plowing Triballs if the Robot is intentionally moving them in a preferred direction with a flat or convex face of the Robot.ā€
The team above seems to not use a concave fasce of the robot, but a flat face of their robot to manipulate triballs. However, once a triball goes into that corner, it would be possession.
ā€œThe difference between Possession and Plowing is analogous to the difference between the terms ā€˜controlling’ and ā€˜moving’.ā€

The team above seems to not intend to control the triball, rather they seem to just be moving them.

1 Like

To help understand better, point a Q&A
https://www.robotevents.com/VRC/2023-2024/QA/1610

It would be considered two concave surfaces - as a result of turning the two would likely turn in the preferred direction with the robot.

I think referees would not call you for momentary moving straight backwards, but if the robot turns and brings both with them it is a hard possession call.

5 Likes

It was late, and yes, that’s the q/a that addressed this exact scenario.

If I’m ref’ing the match with this bot… you’d better move STRAIGHT back and NOT turn. Better yet, write code that moves the arms UP when the robot moves backwards over a couple of inches.

4 Likes

So I found a Q&A that actually has a diagram of the exact situation (https://www.robotevents.com/VRC/2023-2024/QA/1791), and it states that this isn’t necessarily possession but instead it falls into a gray zone.

The longer thought on this…

Are other bots equipped w/ similar mechanisms?
Yes

Will you probably (note I said probably) be ok if you don’t abuse it?
Yes

That said… we all know that matches are frantic to say the least. A ref does not have the ability to watch your bot 100% of the time to clearly determine intent if you are caught backing/turning and appearing to intentionally ā€˜steer’ the skittles (that’s what I call them).

If you catch your driver doing this in practice… then they w/ probably do this in competition and, whether caught or not, be in violation of the letter and spirit of the rules.

Actually, that one does not… :slight_smile:

Look bottom line test is this - is the robot moving triballs in preferred direction? are there concave surfaces that the team are using to accomplish this scoring … not so gray if it is repeated.

I have the luxury of no longer having to worry about this as our championships are over and I am not a referee at Worlds.

1 Like

Additionally… some of the robots/sketches in the q/a listed are exempt (specifically the clawbot picture) as they can only control one skittle at a time… which is allowed.

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.