Just a few coding questions

Ok, I am still very new to coding despite what I want to think. Although most of these questions have probably been answered(Master DRow pls don’t lock ;).) I still have a few questions about coding that I either don’t know the answer to at all or am just not sure.

1. What exactly is a PID?

2. What exactly is 2D Motion profiling and what benefit does it give?

3. Are vision sensors, inertial sensors, gyros, limit switches, bumper switches, etc. important and helpful for autonomous programming and worth the investment.

4. How exactly do you code mecanum wheels for auton?(Probably a dumb question lol)

5. Is an autonomous selector on my brain worth the time?

6. Lastly, since I don’t know the answers to these questions, do I need to be using PROS or VEXCode?

Thank you guys so much in advance and please don’t ignore this, :slight_smile:

Sorry, I forgot another one lol

1. What are counts in PROS? Like when you change a motor’s way of tracking motion.

I can help answer #4, #5, and #6 for you.

For coding mecanum wheels, the first thing to do is to make sure that they are put on correctly. The direction of the “spikes” of the wheels should be making an X. To move in the direction you want, you spin the wheels in the direction you want to go and on the other side, you spin them out. Here’s some sample code that used buttons and joysticks and here’s a visual from a while ago:

if(vexRT[Btn8U] == 1){
	 setMultipleMotors(speed, frontRight, backRight, frontLeft, backLeft);
}
else if(vexRT[Btn8D] == 1){
	setMultipleMotors(-speed, frontRight, backRight, frontLeft, backLeft);
}
else if(vexRT[Btn8L] == 1){
	setMultipleMotors(speed, frontRight, backLeft);
	setMultipleMotors(-speed, frontLeft, backRight);
}
else if(vexRT[Btn8R] == 1){
	setMultipleMotors(-speed, frontRight, backLeft);
	setMultipleMotors(speed, frontLeft, backRight);
}
else if(vexRT[Btn7L] == 1){
	setMultipleMotors(speed, frontRight, backRight);