Rule SC7 clause B states that for a robot to be counted for a climb, it must not contact any field elements. If a team were to supposedly softly place a ring on another robot, it would not be scored for a climb because it is contacting an element. SG9 states that you cannot remove opponents from the ladder. However, the disc would not remove the robot itself from the ladder, only invalidate the climb. The rule also goes further in depth about “violent” contact, however placing a ring on another robot without touching it isn’t even contact.
Theoretically, would this loophole allow teams to “descore” an opposing climb?
It mostly depends on if transferring the ring counts as contact between the robots. If it does count as contact, than it would likely be illegal. The game manual says that if contact does occur, judges will rule if it is or isn’t match effecting or purposeful, this seems purposeful since you are purposefully forcing a robot to posses a ring.
This would likely apply with mobile goals as well
This is a good question, you could use the Q&A for a better understanding.
This is probably illegal under G17, use scoring objects to play the game. Section B of that rule says that you can’t use a ring to interfere with an opponents climb which is what it sounds like you want to do.
Double check the definition of “Field Element” at the top of page 9 (game manual version 0.1)
The rings are not field elements and are considered scoring elements. Nothing is rule SC7 mentions scoring objects.
As for the point raised about using a mobile goal to nullify an opponents hang… SC7.c does state that contacting a mobile goal nullifies a climb, HOWEVER, if you cause the mobile goal to contact an opposing robot in such a manor, you would be violating G15 and either the climb would still count or you could have a match affecting major violation.
G15 only deals with penalties, however SC7.c does not state that it is a violation to touch a mobile goal, just that you won’t be counted as hanging. A violation of G15 would be forcing the opponent to possess two goals, which is illegal.
Touching a mogo while climbing is not a penalty, it just is not scored. Therefore you are not forcing them into a penalty, you are just preventing them from scoring and g15 does not apply.
Similar to how if you block the high stakes and prevent your opponent from scoring on the high stake you are not forcing them into a penalty, you are just preventing them from scoring, touching your opponent with a mobile goal is not forcing them into a penalty, it is just preventing them from scoring.
Well then I suppose this might be a good candidate for the Q&A as I really don’t expect that this is an intended strategy (it can nullify the entire endgame) and rulings on it could be all over the place if it is not clarified.
I don’t think it is as match affecting as you think. Touching another team that is hanging with a mogo might not be as easy as you think especially if there are rings on the mogo. Even so, this would only really work well on Tier 1 Hangs granting a 3 point swing as higher hangs would likely require a dedicated mechanism to lift the mogo that high and at that point you might as well just build a mechanism to hang. Using this strategy also likely sacrifices your ability to hang as well. Additionally, you would have to sacrifice placing the mogo in a spot that would be more beneficial (positive or negative zone depending on the rings) and that would probably be worth more than 3 points, so it would only even be tempting to do when the other 4 mogos are in the corners and you have possession of the 5th mogo, as opposed to just putting a slam hang on your robot for the guaranteed 3 points. It’s an interesting strategy, but definitely not worth it.
This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.