So the official rules for Sack Attack say we can have 12"x24" of lexan. Does this mean we can only have pieces of lexan that can be cut from a sheet this size or does it mean we can have 288 square inches in any size, if any one sheet does not exceed the dimensions of 12x24?
Another simple search of “Polycarbonate Size” yielded this thread. Basically the limit isn’t 288 square inches, but that the pieces you use can be reassembled into a 12"x24" sheet. Using two 13"x6" pieces would be illegal because they could only be assembled into a 12"x26" sheet at minimum.
Edit: Excuse my math failure. Leaving it there because I’m **** proud of it.
I remember that in past seasons Cambie 1107B used to bring along a model of all the polycarbonate pieces on their robot to show inspectors that the pieces could come out of one 12x24 sheet. It doesn’t matter how big the sheet is you started with, or how many sheets you use, as long as the thickness is legal and the parts on the robot can be “reassembled” into a single 12"x24" piece.
No, I suppose not. Our team made a template, but it was never used as we ended up not needing as much polycarbonate as originally planned. It would be useful for things like your engineering/design notebook, as well as if you think somebody could potentially question the amount of polycarbonate on your robot.
Finally, it’s always good to have a plan before cutting.
haha, those deployed out the side of the robot (like wings) so it would be touching the starting tile which makes it legal for us to matchload, reposition, etc (depending on the situation) while engulfing the low goal