LRT Tipping Point Scoring Confusion

I’ve been working on making a scoring app for tipping point, and there’s a few cases where I’m not sure how things would be scored.

If a robot is holding a mobile goal in the air, and there are rings on that goal, do the rings still count towards the team’s total points? Similarily, if the mobile goal is on an unbalanced platform, would its rings count towards the total score?

For both of these cases I’m assuming the rings wouldn’t count, as Scoring Note #1 states that all mobile goals (and platforms) may be treated as neutral, and if a neutral goal is not scored its rings don’t count as points for any team, unlike alliance goals where the rings would still count. However, Scoring Note #1’s examples make it appear that this is only about removing the restrictions of not being able to use the other platform and letting mobile goals be scored in any zone.

Scoring Note #1: All Mobile Goals and Platforms may be considered “neutral”. For example, Alliance Mobile Goals may be Scored in any Zone, and Robots may Elevate on either color Platform

If there isn’t a clear answer and someone is willing to post this on the official QnA, it would be much appreciated.

3 Likes

The way I see it, it depends if the goal is a neutral goal or an alliance goal.

The definition for a scored ring is:

A Ring is considered Scored on a Mobile Goal Branch if it is not contacting a Robot, and any part of the Branch is within the volume defined by the outer edges of the Ring

nowhere does it mention in this definition anything about the location or state that the goal is in, therefore rings can be considered scored on a goal even if the goal is being contacted by a robot. However, this only applies to alliance goals because rings scored on alliance goals are worth points regardless of where the goal is, but rings on neutral goals are only worth points for the alliance that has the goal scored in their home zone.

So yes, rings on an alliance goal that is being lifted by a robot would count for points, but not on a neutral goal because a lifted neutral goal is not considered scored in a home zone (the alliance home zones are defined as a surface, not a 3D volume.)

I see the answer here being yes for both alliance and neutral goals. the definition for scored rings does not say anything about the situation the goal must be in, and therefore as long as the rings meet the definition for scored, they will count as scored.

As far as the points go, if the goal in question is an alliance goal, the rings obviously give points because the alliance goal can be anywhere and have rings still worth points. For the neutral goals, I believe they also give points for their rings because according to the definition, the platforms are included as part of the home zones, and therefore a neutral goal contacting a platform (even an unbalanced one) would be considered scored in that alliance’s home zone.

hopefully this clarifies the questions and I interpreted the manual correctly.

5 Likes

A mobile goal is only considered scored in a zone if its touching the tile, so even in In-Person matches, mobile goals on an unbalanced platform don’t count as in the home zone (Which puts a lot of pressure on an alliance’s ability to balance it, as they could lose all of the ring points from their neutral goals on the platform in an instant).

Tis the issue, as Scoring Note #1 indicates that all mogos are neutral, so in an In-Person match the rings wouldn’t count, but in LRT where the mogos give points to the same team no matter where it is, it feels like it could be different. Additionally, if they wanted to emphasize that the rings count no matter what the state of the mogo is, they could have changed Scoring Note #1 to treat all mogos and platforms as if they belong to the same alliance, instead of being neutral.

1 Like

not according to the manual:

The Platforms are considered part of their respective Alliance Home Zone.

so although the home zone might not be a three dimensional volume, the surfaces of the platforms count as part of the zone.

and this:

A Mobile Goal is considered Scored in an Alliance Home Zone if, at the end of the Match, any part of the Mobile Goal Base is contacting the Alliance Home Zone.

says the goal base needs to be touching the alliance home zone (which includes the platforms).

scoring note one only applies to skills though correct? because you need to be able to use all colored goals and all platforms during a skills match. This note makes no sense if applied to regular matches, because obviously a team cannot use their opponents platform.

and when the note refers to “neutral”, I don’t believe that means that all colored peices are now treated as neutral goals in every unless the neutral goal is contacting an alliance home zone (contacting the tiles, platform, or tape lines),
but rings on alliance goals are worth points regardless of where the goal is at the end of the match.

4 Likes

With this rule wouldn’t the goal still be counted if it is in the air, but touching the robot:

contact is considered “transitive” through other Robots and Scoring Objects

no, because the manual provides specific scoring definitions for these objects, and this does not override those definitions.

also this does not apply to the entire manual, only to the parts where it is mentioned (like balancing platforms)

2 Likes

Ah thank you, that’s good to know, makes the game a bit less scary.

These Scoring Notes are for LRT, not skills. All of the mogos and platforms are scored for the same team in both LRT and skills, but in LRT all of the mobile goals count for points in any zone, while in skills the mobile goal scoring follows more closely to the In-Person scoring.

On a fun(ish) separate note, according to <LRT4>, scoring objects won’t be returned to the field. If rings on alliance goals still count for points while being held in the air by a robot, (unless there’s a rule I’m not seeing) rings on an alliance goal that’s outside of the field might count for points too. Now of course if you did this intentionally or repeatedly you’d get DQ’d, but the scoring definition of rings don’t require them to be within the field walls.

5 Likes