Under the “Scored” section of the VEX Game Manual on page 7, line item “1” appears to be indirect disagreement with “Note 3:” located two inches below in the same section. please clarify.
This is Page 7 of the game manual:
When asking for clarification, please specify the rule codes located before each rule, for example <SG6> or <G1>
I do not see a rule code reference number on these. The page that you have posted is page 6 in the manual that I am looking at. This is copied and pasted from the page 7 in the manual I am looking at. I am sorry about the confusion.
Robot – Anything that has passed inspection that a team places on the field prior to the start of a
Match.
Scored – A Scoring Object is Scored in a Zone if it meets one of the following criteria:
- The Scoring Object is touching the Zone
a. If a Scoring Object is touching multiple Zones it is Scored in the higher point value Zone - The Scoring Object is not touching any Zone and is Supported by a Robot and/or a Scoring
Object, it is Scored in the Zone that Robot or Scoring Object is touching.
a. If the Robot and/or Supporting Scoring Object in this situation is touching multiple
Zones, the Supported Scoring Object is Scored in the highest point value Zone
b. If a Scoring Object is Supported by a Hanging Robot the Scoring Object would be
Scored in the Far Zone adjacent to the Hanging Bar that the Robot is Hanging from.
Note 1: If a Scoring Object is solely Supported by the Fence it is not Scored in any Zones.
Note 2: If a Scoring Object is Supported by two opposing Robots it is not Scored in any Zones.
Note 3: If a Scoring Object is touching two opposing Zones is not Scored in any Zone.
Note 3 refers to the case that the game object is touching your scoring zone and the opposing scoring score, negating either alliance getting the points.
I believe that the key distinction is that in Note 1, the note is referring to a star on the fence that is not touching the tiles (for example, a star that is never knocked off the fence during a match). That star would not be scored for either alliance.
In Note 3, the note is referring to a star that is in the gap under the side fence sections (which is big enough to push objects under). If the star is touching past the tape lines on both sides, then it is not scored as being in either zone.