Match Load Question

Question about the match load position. Is this position legal for match loading?

According to Fig 28 of the rule book, it shows as long as it’s breaking the plan that it is okay.

No, that is not legal


You must touch the match load bar. Just “breaking the plane” is only acceptable momentarily, and the robot must touch the bar again or stop match loading.

6 Likes

Per SG6, you must be contacting the bar. However, SG6 (2)(b) says that momentarily losing contact with the match load bar is fine as long as you are still breaking that plane.

So for you if that rubber banded roller is actually touching the bar, then yes your strategy is legal. However, if it is only breaking the plane, then it is not legal (as it would not be momentary).

2 Likes

Yes, your bot must either touch the match load bar or exceed the inner plane of the bar to be able to match load, but this way it’s easier for opponents in tournament style to push you around and may lead to warnings in a match if the bot is not following either of the rules.
But yeah you can surely do that.

1 Like

That makes more sense now. As long as we are touching than we are good. Okay, I got it. Thank you!

2 Likes

Exceeding the inner plane (per Part 2b of SG6) is only allowed momentarily, which the game manual has also defined as two seconds. Usually, the robot would have to contact the match load bar or the match load zone (the floor tile area that is subtended by the match load bar and field walls).

1 Like

Oh I didn’t know that thank you!

2 Likes

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.