Match Preload Placement

Hi there,

My team has a relatively badly designed robot when it comes to the intake system, which means that to load in a triball manually, you need to lift up the robot and place the triball from underneath.

Would we be allowed to do this at the start of the game, or would we need to place it infront of the robot and allow the intake mechanism to do its thing?

Any help would be appreciated =)

Take a look at the definition of preload in the game manual. If what you want to do meets all the requirements you are probably okay. If you see something in the game manual that prohibits what you want to do it would be illegal. But the game manual could not address all the possibilities of what you might do.

1 Like

Why wouldn’t it be? When there is no specific rule against it (remember rules s1 and g3) then its legal.

2 Likes

Rule SG4 (paraphrased here) states that a preload (an Alliance Triball) must be placed such that it is:

  • contacting your Robot
  • not contacting a Robot that is contacting another Preload
  • fully within the field perimeter

The situation you’ve described should not violate any of these conditions, since the preload Triball is contacting your robot.

3 Likes