Mecanumbot Help : Need Motors with more Hauling Power

Hey all,

I am a student, currently pursuing Mechanical Engg in India. I am building an Omnidirectional Vehicle based on Mecanum Wheels as my Final Year Project. 

The main constraint I have, as of right now is to figure out the Motors that will Haul the whole vehicle whose weight will be in excess of 5 kg :( as I am mounting a Robotic Arm/ Forklift on the Vehicle to focus on presenting the vehicle as suitable for Industrial Application. The Motors that VEX provides, I estimate, will not be suitable for the Vehicle. Also I can order the VEX package only once, as it will be really expensive and time consuming to order a single item later on. :(

So basically, the idea boils down to this. Can I possibly find a Substitute for a Vex Motor with more torque and still capable to work with the VEX Micro Controller ? :confused: Will an ordinary Servo Motor that I can buy from India work efficiently with the Vex Micro Controller ? (By Breaking the 'Lock' to convert the Servo into a Continuous Rotation Motor ?)

Please Help Me. As I have to order the package in a week’s time.

Also, as I am a total amateur in the field of Robotics and has been refrained to experiment with those awesomus :smiley: Vex Robotics Kits, I might need a suggestion about what exactly I should order for making the Vehicle.

Thank You. :slight_smile:

5kg is really lightweight for a VEX robot. I don’t know anything about the surfaces you intend to run on or how fast you want to go, but you can easily carry that weight with four VEX motors driving four wheels. I know of a few robots that weigh that much with two motors driving, but the designers were careful with how the robot turned. Many competition VEX robots weigh 10kg.

Good luck!