Mechanum Program

I have been searching around on the internet, looking up some code for mechanum wheels,stuff like this

//Create "deadzone" variables. Adjust threshold value to increase/decrease deadzone
int X2 = 0, Y1 = 0, X1 = 0, threshold = 15;

//Loop Forever
while(1 == 1)
{
//Create "deadzone" for Y1/Ch3
if(abs(vexRT[Ch3]) > threshold)
Y1 = vexRT[Ch3];
else
Y1 = 0;
//Create "deadzone" for X1/Ch4
if(abs(vexRT[Ch4]) > threshold)
X1 = vexRT[Ch4];
else
X1 = 0;
//Create "deadzone" for X2/Ch1
if(abs(vexRT[Ch1]) > threshold)
X2 = vexRT[Ch1];
else
X2 = 0;

//Remote Control Commands
motor[frontRight] = Y1 - X2 - X1;
motor[backRight] = Y1 - X2 + X1;
motor[frontLeft] = Y1 + X2 + X1;
motor[backLeft] = Y1 + X2 - X1

But I am unsure of what some of the stuff is. I am an amateur programer, and have no idea what some of this stuff means. Particularly the deadzone,the X and Y and Channels. Please help!
I realize that this code will not strafe, and if someone could help me with that too that would be great!!

Thank you sooo much!

I am by no means a professional, but I can read the code.

Dead zone is the feature frequently used in any joystick programming. Basically, the way we program a joystick to motor is giving the reading of the joystick to the motor. When we do not want motors to move, we allow the joystick to go back to its original position. However the original position is usually not a precise 0 reading. Without dead zone, your motor may possibly keep drifing when the joystick is not moved. So dead zone is a command saying that if joystick reading is under a certain value, just stop the motors. And in the program sample the programmer used absolute value to simplify the code, but basically it is the same principle.