Motors burning out?

Hello,

I’m a first-time Vex IQ coach. The kids are having a great time experimenting with the robot, but recently one of their mechanisms stopped working. It’s a “slapper” that pulls back and slaps the disks into the scoring zone. Out of nowhere it seemed to stop having enough torque to pull the rubber bands back far enough, and after swapping in a new motor, it seemed to work again.

The next time we met, however, that motor seemed to be too weak as well. One of them touched it and said it seemed to be overheating.

Do these motors overheat easily? The only thing I can think is that they have a bit of code that pulls the slapper back so the disks can stack in a level pile before they begin shooting. The motor holds the slapper back against the tension of the rubber band, and it makes a low whining sound. Could this be the issue? Are there other ways to have motors lock in place without overheating them?

Thanks in advance!

The sound you describe seems bad.

I’m not sure there’s enough detail to provide great feedback, but a few thoughts.

1. IQ motors aren’t terribly strong. Pulling against rubber bands could be a big load to them. Depends on the mech, gear ratio, etc.
  2. From the sound of it, the motors may be holding force for a long time. This could make any heating problems worse. I assume that most shooters wind something up and have a slip mechanism to release. Not sure.
  3. IQ motors shouldn’t get hot.
  4. Some sounds could be the shaft not all thecway inserted. It is possible to round out the part of the motor the shaft goes into.

Motors are hard to get, I hear
Probably wouldn’t encourage them to just replace them as they break without debug.

3 Likes