Need Help with Line Following Code

Ok, I’ve been working on this for quite some time and ready to throw in the towel…

It follows the line pretty well, but once it leaves the line (i.e. when the track starts to loop around), it just keeps going in that direction and fails to find the line again.

I have no prior programming experience, but have been attempting to program an autonomous line following robot in EasyC and here is my code so far:

Constants

#ifndef main_h
#define main_h

#include “UserAPI.h”

#define TAPE 100
#define CARPET 400
#define LEFT_MOTOR_SPEED_FORWARD 165
#define RIGHT_MOTOR_SPEED_FORWARD 96
#define MOVE_FORWARD 0
#define STEER 1
#define ROBOT_MOVE_FORWARD {SetPWM( 1, RIGHT_MOTOR_SPEED_FORWARD ); SetPWM( 2, LEFT_MOTOR_SPEED_FORWARD);}
#define RIGHT_MOTOR 1
#define LEFT_MOTOR 2
#define VEER_RIGHT {SetPWM(1, 105); SetPWM(2, 154);}
#define VEER_LEFT {SetPWM(1, 107); SetPWM(2, 127);}
#define STEER_RIGHT {SetPWM(1, 127); SetPWM(2, 167);}
#define STEER_LEFT {SetPWM(1, 87); SetPWM(2, 127);}

#endif // main_h

Main Program

#include “Main.h”

void main ( void )
{
int right_sensor_value;
int center_sensor_value;
int left_sensor_value;
int previous_right;
int previous_left;
int toggle_movement = STEER;

while ( 1 )
  {
        left_sensor_value = GetAnalogInput ( 1 ) ;//get value for left sensor
        center_sensor_value = GetAnalogInput ( 2 ) ;//get value for center sensor
        right_sensor_value = GetAnalogInput ( 3 ) ;//get value for right sensor
        if ( center_sensor_value <= TAPE  )
        {
              ROBOT_MOVE_FORWARD 
              previous_right = right_sensor_value  ;
        }
        else if ( left_sensor_value <= TAPE  )
        {
              STEER_LEFT 
              previous_left = left_sensor_value  ;
        }
        else if ( right_sensor_value <= TAPE  )
        {
              STEER_RIGHT 
        }