Hmm… It seems some teams are pushing the triballs contacting the double line over the barrier, shouldn’t this be illegal? In this video, you can see one of the red alliances push the balls over the bar and see they pass the double line with their wing expansion. Can someone confirm if I am correct or if I am incorrect?
The triball is on the line, not in either zones (or both), so contacting it is legal.
Since the wing did not contact the ground/field tlew on the other side of the line, it is legal. The rule does not prohibit passing the line as long as the mechanisms passing the line are above thr ground
As someone coming out of VIQRC, this confused me too because everything in IQ is infinite vertical plane. They rarely rule on “touching field tiles” but use vertical projections instead. Both methods have their advantages. I would think vertical projection is easier to ref but I can not be sure.
From a referee point of view - contacting makes sense in certain cases - for example, you can do a paper test easily, which breaking the goal’s vertical plane gets tricky based of where you are looking. I do invite drive team to double check if they are across the field - it helps.
I’m especially thinking about mid-match cases like in slapshot how you couldn’t pass the fence or pvc pipe while shooting. That was pretty easy because you could hast have a ref standing so they could easily see when a bot broke the plane. In end of match things like elevation or objects being scored, it can go either way. I just find it interesting that IQ tends toward “breaking the plane” and VRC towards “touching the tile”