The Green MacHHHHine, team 3129, would like to invite you to check out our new Gateway Scoring program. This program allows you to develop and evaluate your scoring strategies. To see the program, go to our team web site:
Well, this is my interpretation, but if you think it might not be right then you should ask in the official Q&A for a clarification.
Definitions from the manual:
Note that Ball and Barrel definitions both have the phrase “red or blue” in it. Meaning, in my opinion, that a doubler or negation does not meet the the definition of Ball or Barrel. Thus, when looking at the Bonus Point definition, it says the lowest Ball or Barrel (which the other definitions say have to be red or blue). Therefore it does not matter if there is a doubler or negation underneath the bonus point object, as the BP object is still the lowest red or blue object.
In your example, I’d say Red has 6 points (2 objects + bonus point, doubled) and Blue has 2 points (1 object, doubled).
Again, though, that’s my interpretation. Best to ask the GDC if you think it’s ambiguous.
Duplicate questions in Q+A get me a bit annoyed because they make it harder for people who try to keep on top of all the rulings (for example people like AURA who run competitions). Of course, making people read a 7-page forum before they can post a question would also be silly, so it might be a bit unfair to blame the people who ask those questions.
I do think the Q+A system needs to be changed, though, so that people who want to read only the unique content can and people who ask questions that already have answers still get their questions answered.
After I’m sure I have worked out any bugs, I can make the “swf” file available for use offline. Contact me offline if you would like a copy (Irv at furrypants dot com). No plans right now to make an iphone or android app.
Yeah sorry, I got a bit rage. not enough sleep recently, etc.
I guess I see the official Q+A differently from most other people - as a place for rules to be created to cover situations that were not adequately covered in the Manual. When I see the same thing being asked more than once I think “Argh why don’t they already know this??” when the obvious answer is because not everyone has the time to read everything Karthik and the GDC have ever written.
i just read through the whole thread again, and in no combination, does it start with a doubler or negation as first object
w/e karthik to the rescue!
he just answered and Dave’s interpretation was correct
After a negation or doubler barrel has been added to the goal, the score of the goal should not change even if another doubler or negation barrel is dropped in. The scoring program that the link points to does not reflect this behavior.