Newbie on the A team

My team, the A team of my school, has myself and another very experienced VEX student. However, our third member is a complete newbie and a freshman. He is dedicated and could easily work hard, but two problems have arisen:

1. He has no idea what to to. (he’s a noob and we don’t have time to set aside and teach him)
  2. We have nothing do give him. My teammate and I collaborated over the summer and have a mostly finished design that we are very quickly building. Because he doesn’t know what to do, he tends to get in the way. We’ve set him with a few productive tasks, but for the most part he has nothing to do.
    What are your guys’ recommendations? Our team has a shot of going to worlds this year; we could even do well in worlds if he starts working.
    EDIT: What I’m really trying to ask is this: how can we teach this newbie to work with vex parts and think in vex parts efficiently?

You are living my life right now, except double the amount of newbies. Two of my 3 teammates left to another group and for team selections, so we were required to fill in those places. I would like an answer as well to the same question because I don’t know what to do as well.

Sounds like me a few years ago. What my very team captain did was have me sit and do the most basic building tasks possible. I also did logs and online challenges. Th most important thing to do is to keep him in the room right next to you with either a laptop or a notebook. Talk to him and make a conversation. Tell him what you’re doing at the moment, and make him fell like he has responsibility. Worked great for me.

I see your problem there, but how about 2 newbies, even thought you give them enough work, it takes them 5 minutes just to unscrew a bolt. All they want to do is sit and text their friends…

It is extremely annoying.