Non protected goal zone question

I’m not sure if I should ask this on the q and a but I was wondering if it is legal to push an opposing robot into their non protected goal zone to knock over a stack. SG3f only applies to the protected zone and your robot would never be contacting the scored cubes (SG3b).


short answer: no

long answer: the game manual states cubes are sacred and cannot be toppled in any way once stacked


I don’t see anything in the rules that says that. Am I missing something?

search the forums, there are numerous other threads where this subject has been talked to death

1 Like

Your specific question was recently answered by this Q&A entry.

1 Like

That q and a answer says that it would be a violation of sg3 f but sg3f is for the protected zone?

key words: or goal zone
the goal zone is defined by the 1 inch raised borders


Where does it mention the goal zone?

The main issue here is the fact that the rule book specifically states that it is illegal to force another object to do something that would otherwise be illegal for your robot to do, meaning that it is illegal to force your opponent to knock over their own cubes, and the fault of the fallen stack would be on you. This same principle is true for the auton line, it is illegal to intentionally use a cube or other object to disrupt the opponents auton as it would be illegal for your robot to perform the same action.

Welcome, Wesley. It’s good to finally have you here.

Yeah, I’ve been on the Forums for a while now, but I haven’t bothered to make and account.

Does the rule say that you can’t force an opponent to do something that would be illegal for you? my interpretation was that you can’t force an opponent to break a rule.

1 Like

In the manual on SG3 it says:

Stay away from your opponent’s protected areas. Robots may not intentionally or accidentally, directly or indirectly, perform the following actions: B Contact any Scored Cubes in either of opposing Alliance’s Goal Zones

In the official Q&A response it says (bold added for emphasis):

Therefore, a Robot which pushes an opponent into the opponent’s own Protected Zone or Goal Zone would be subject to the full extent of SG3.

1 Like

this should help (helpfull)

1 Like