NOOB Teacher

Hi all, I am a new teacher who wants to set up a new group of students with the best possible experience. I can find the game rules in minute detail, BUT I have been told that the engineering notebook is around 1/3 of the final results. I can find NO guidance on the notebook apart from “it tells the story”.

Are there any official documentation links (in SEA if that helps)?
Can the students supply an electronic notebook?

Thanks :slight_smile: We all look forward to interacting with you. See you on the floor.

1 Like

https://www.roboticseducation.org/documents/2020/06/engineering-notebook-and-team-interview-rubric.pdf/

Try this rubric to see if it helps any.

10 Likes

Students document making their robot, challenges they faced, things to improve on, and just things to tell the judges of their journey and maybe what sets them apart from other teams. A digital notebook is okay.

3 Likes

In addition to the rubric hayden provided, I would also recommend looking at this example notebook found on the RECF website: Sample notebook

I’ve found that youtube can also be a valuable source. Many teams have posted videos of them going through past notebooks. RECF has a great youtube video on notebooks as well → RECF video

5 Likes

Thank you, that’s incredibly helpful.

Thank you, incredibly helpful - a resource the students can access and build upon themselves

1 Like

Thank you, really helpful

https://wiki.purduesigbots.com/team-administration/team-documentation

Hope this can be helpful

5 Likes

Awesome, thank you (apparently the post has to be 20 characters so please ignore all the rest of this)

Not aure is there any real documentation to this point.

In a VRC tournament, there are 3 main aspects to it:

1. The tournament itself - which are the matches that you will be playing. And winners are the Tournament Champions