Optical sensor help

Hi, I am new to using sensors so i looked an old post on the forum to get some help and it helped me slightly. I am planning on using an optical sensor to sense the colour of the roller and spin a motor until it is the other colour.
I have a few questions.

First, what do i swap blueball for in this line of code

Optical.objectDetected(blueball); 
1 Like

ok, According to the Vexcode API

in the line of code you are using, blueball is a Function, so when it detects an object then it runs blueball, the line of code you are probably looking for would be

(Optical.color()) this should return the color of what its looking at and then you can compare that to a range of acceptable values for the red and blue sides to know which side you are looking at, and spin the roller accordingly.

3 Likes

So do i not need Optical.objectDetected(blueball); ?

All that says is when an object is detected, run the function blueball, if you have a function named blue ball that will do somthing, then you need that, otherwise it is not something you need

2 Likes

My implementation of it was using hue since google said that is basically a fancy way of saying color. Here is the code I use for mine.

while(int(Optical.hue()) < 15 && int(Optical.hue()) > 5 ){
    RollerSpinner.spin(forward, 10, percent);
  }

Though it is for red not blue you can just use std::cout << Optical.hue(); in a loop and point it at the roller to find what to set it at.

5 Likes

Hue is a good way to detect, being more precise, but the sensor already comes with color presets, as seen in Jpearman’s post here. you can just use Optical1.color() == vex::blue or a different color like Optical1.color() == vex::red. Hope this helps!

2 Likes

if(Optical.hue()){ intake.stop(brakeType::brake); }

for blue, the optical sensor detects blue as greater than 140. How do I put that into this line of code?

Use the same code from before but put the 5 as 140 and take out the first condition.