Over Under scoring question

We were wondering if we could design a robot to put the triballs on top of the net and have them still count as scored. Our logic is that the rules call them scored if they break the outside plane of the PVC pipe on the net. Because it’s a bit vague, would any triballs 100% behind the PVC yet on top of the net still be scored or do they have to go under?

Please read the game manual more carefully. This is specifically adressed.

11 Likes

A Triball is considered Scored in a Goal if it meets the following criteria:

  1. The Triball is not contacting a Robot of the same color Alliance as the Goal.

  2. At least two (2) corners of the Triball are within the Goal (i.e., are under the Net and have “broken the plane” of the outer edge of the PVC pipes that define the Goal volume).

Here is rule SC3. As you can see in bold, the triballs have to be under the net to be counted.

7 Likes

Please do not give the answers to questions that are answered in the game manual. Give a man a fish, feed him for a day. Teach him how to fish, feed him for a lifetime.

8 Likes

@Ryno was asking whether or not there was a rule about scoring above the net. I provided the rule that specified the answer to the question. Even if you don’t state the rule, maybe just say, “See Rule SC3 in the game manual.” It’s not helpful to the person asking the question to just tell them to go read the manual again.

6 Likes

You see, I asked because the rule says that as an example but then later shows the “planes” extending to the top of the field. Me and my team were confused as to which the refs would choose for scoring. None of these answers nor rereading the whole manual for the 5th time are helping.

I would go with the assumption that you are not able to put a triball above the net to score.

3 Likes

This person clearly didn’t read the manual in the first place. And if they did, they have king since forgotten it. Don’t give people answers. Searching for information in technical documents is a skill.

Perfectly said.

8 Likes

I read the thing with my team 5 times over. The rule said under the net as an example then later on showed the ‘planes’ containing the volume going up from the floor to the height of the field walls. The 4 people on my team, my self included got confused, showed it to our instructor, and he was confused too.

1 Like

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.