Parking Brake

Hi, I am kind of new to Vex as this is my second year. My team is wanting a sort of parking brake that makes our bot unable to be pushed/moved by opponents. I have a few ideas such as a ratchet and pawl mechanism, a different ratchet design, and a 1-way gear/clutch. Which idea would work the best? Also, I was thinking some sort of pneumatic brake might work too, but have no idea where to start with that. Any suggestions? I am open to any ideas and constructive criticism. Thanks, guys

I used a pneumatic brake last season, it worked by having some static gears mounted to little levers that could be pushed downwards into the drive gears, seizing up the whole drive. This worked very well and made the drive completely immovable forwards and backwards, and using traction middle wheels locked movement side to side. I had experimented with friction pad brakes earlier, but found they were much more difficult, took up more space, and were only partially effective.

I’m not sure that it’s worth it this season though, there aren’t many instances when being pushed forwards or backwards is a concern. Maybe when you are shooting into the goal, but you do this so many times in a match that it would require almost constant actuation of the brakes for pretty minimal benefits. Last year was different because being able to lock movement on the platform and during tug of war matches was really powerful.

11 Likes
6 Likes

Several parts to your question:
1 - can motors be actively engaged in resisting motion in park - yes - use brake type hold. However, there will be a lot of lost energy as motors always active.

2 - preventing motion - that will require both mass of robot and solid area resisting motion - not practical if you are trying to accomplish other tasks and not damaging field.

lots of others … but that’s up to your imagination…

good luck!

4 Likes