Pass a parameter using vex::thread

So I am trying to figure out how to start a thread and then do something else. I saw this thread, but I need to pass a parameter to my function. Is there any way to use vex::thread and pass a parameter to a function

Additionally, is there a way to say wait until the function is done before moving on in the program?

I’m not very good at programming, so any help is appreciated. Thanks a lot!

You could define a lambda that calls the actual function with the parameter you want:

void thread_contents(int foo){
    //do some stuff
}

int main(){
    vex::thread myThread = vex::thread([]{
        //define a lambda that calls thread_contents with the desired value
        thread_contents(7);
    });
}

You could probably use a mutex to do this. But in the simplest case, where you want to do something like this:

void thread_contents(int foo){
    //do some stuff
}

int main(){
    vex::thread myThread = vex::thread([]{
        //define a lambda that calls thread_contents with the desired value
        thread_contents(7);
    });

//main should wait until myThread has finished before continuing

printf("myThread is done!");
}

then a better solution would be to just call thread_contents directly without spinning off a thread.

3 Likes

Yes, you can pass a void ptr to a thread, no need to use a lambda. The join() member function can cause the current thread to block until the specified thread terminates. See the API docs
https://api.vexcode.cloud/v5/html/classvex_1_1thread.html
But I suspect what you are trying to achieve doesn’t really need this functionality, perhaps you can explain what you are trying to do and we can suggest a simpler method.

6 Likes

Nevermind, I have figured out a way around my first question

In case you’re curious what I needed this for…

We use a P-Loop for our auton. We also have a thread called “Drive,” which accepts a number as a parameter (the distance to drive).