Pinning a Defensive Robot?

What are the rules about “pinning” a robot blocking your scoring zone.

I think he’s stating that it’s kind of like pinning but not truly pinning. @ben.starkman can you explain a bit more of what you’re trying to say? Thank you :slight_smile:

If an opposing robot is blocking your scoring zone, and you try to pass will you be called for pinning?

Most likely no, not if all you’re trying to do is get past them to score yourself.

Since you are not allow to touch opponent’s mobile goal and not allow to descore, if you push your mobile goal to the defensive wallbot or somehow let them accidentally knock off your stack, do they get penalty or dq?
I think this is the only way to deal with the defensive wallbot blocking the zone

Opposing robots are allowed to touch you mobile goals. They would probably not get in trouble because you are actively trying to get them dqed. However, intentionally damaging them in order to score is probably legal. In skyrise, two vexu teams broke a wall bot in half and there were no punishments.

Although if it’s questionable whether or not it’s a pin or who’s pinning whom, the refs are obligated to rule in favor of the offensive robot per G12


I would not interpret the rules “In the case where referees are forced to make a judgment call on interaction between a defensive and offensive Robot, the referees will err on the side of the offensive Robot.” as “the refs are obligated to rule in favor of the offensive robot” That seems like seriously overstating the intent of the rule.

@Robo_Eng_13 Fair enough