The rules say that with 8 V5 motors you are allowed 0 pneumatic tanks. That being said, am I allowed to use the air cylinders and solenoids regardless of motor count, because the rules do not explicitly say I cannot?
I’m not the GDC, but I assume that they mean that if you use 8 v5 motors, you are not allowed to use any source of power/energy other than that. I think it is intended that if you sacrifice two v5 motors, you can use pneumatics, and if you dont, then you arent allowed to use anything related to them.
I stand corrected, below me.
Always good to give the old book game manual another read
The rules state:
Robots use one control system. Robots may use either:
Option 1: A VEX ARM® Cortex®-based Microcontroller, up to ten (10) 2-Wire Motors or VEX Servos
(in any combination up to ten) and a legal VRC pneumatic system per .
Option 2: A VEX ARM® Cortex®-based Microcontroller, up to twelve (12) 2-Wire Motors or VEX
Servos (in any combination up to 12) and no pneumatic components, excluding pneumatic tubing.
Option 3: A V5 Robot Brain, up to six (6) V5 Smart Motors, and a legal VRC pneumatic system per
Option 4: A V5 Robot Brain, up to eight (8) V5 Smart Motors, and no pneumatic components, excluding pneumatic tubing.
Look specifically at Option four it says "No Pneumatic components excluding pneumatic tubing. "
As vexvoltage pointed out, the rules specifically prohibit anything but tubing if you are using 8 V5 motors. See also https://www.robotevents.com/VRC/2019-2020/QA/448.