Pneumatics Question

Alright, we have an idea for a High Goal Scorer. I have seen multiple teams use something like this with Pneumatics. How many cylinders do you use?

I have never used Pneumatics before, so I might not saying the right thing :stuck_out_tongue:

What do I need to complete a set? I think we will be getting some random parts for Pneumatics, so if someone can let me know what I need for it to work, that would be great!

Which set would be the best to use for this (this mechanism will only be used once) and what are the differences between the two?
Pneumatics Kit 1 - Single Acting Cylinders
Pneumatics Kit 2 - Double Acting Cylinders

Thank you all!

Just a suggestion look at Owens teams videos they had a nifty high goal scorer with a string using the power of the lift.

Alright.

I think Pneumatics sound SO awesome though :slight_smile: Were might I find a video or picture?

There’s really only one (functional) difference between Kit 1 and Kit 2:

In Kit 1, you have “Single Acting Cylinders.” That is to say, when you activate the piston/cylinder, air pushes the rod out. However, when you deactivate the cylinder, a spring returns the rod to the start position.

In Kit 2, you have “Double Acting Cylinders.” When you activate the cylinder, air pushes the rod out. When you deactivate the cylinder, air pushes it closed.

This basically means that Kit 2 closes faster and with more force than Kit 1.

We would only need air to be push the cylinder out. So Kit 1 should work for us?

Then, if I look through the Kit 1 page, all the parts in there should make it work?

Around 1:32 seconds

Oh, alright cool!

I’ll see about that.

It depends on its use, but yes. If you can use it to just push out then you should be pretty good. I like doing Double Acting simply because I enjoy powering in both directions, even though it is not always needed.