Pnuematic Catapult limits

Does anyone have an educated guess as to how many times (at most) a two tank system could launch balls across the full field before running out?

Our guesses: My friend says 5, my other friend says 10, and another kid said 40.

I don’t think you could get any or maybe 1

So how many of those are educated :stuck_out_tongue: Just kidding…thanks for asking around.

So with a sample size of 4 our average is 14 with a standard deviation of 17…

Any other guesses?

I’m no expert on pneumatics, but from what I know about them, I’d be amazed if someone could shoot all their driver control loads using only 2 air tanks. I’m very confident that you would run out of air well before 40 shots.

Well, people were not getting very many big ball launches during toss up. I would say ten launches was a lot for that game. (and you could have as many tanks as you wanted)

The balls were bigger and heavier, but I still don’t think you will be able to launch enough NbN balls with pneumatics to be successful.

You could potentially use pneumatics as a ‘trigger’ to release stored energy stored in rubberbands from a motor, but other than that, I don’t see pneumatics being useful for ball launches.

Elevating partners on the other hand…:rolleyes:

I actually should have been more clear. Not me personally (your probably right about me). I was wondering about someone who know what they were doing… More of a what’s possible kinda question…

That’s not exactly how I meant it. Sorry if it sounded rude. I was more thinking how many times you could get it into the net. Otherwise, I seriously think 5 is a reasonable max # of shots with that distance.
The Toss Up balls were heavier, but people also weren’t shooting them very high or far most of the time.
Also I kind of hate pneumatics, so luck would provably lead to 0 or 1 in multiple matches even if you could theoretically get more :slight_smile: