Possesion limits in Turning Point

Can a robot carry a cap with more than two balls on it? does it count as possesion or is it the same as last year?

Also, can a robot carry another robot which is carrying 2 balls (more relevant for VexU)

It is NOT the same as last year. On the reveal video (VEX Robotics Competition Turning Point: 2018-2019 VRC Game - YouTube) around 1:07 it shows a robot carrying 3 balls on top of a cap and it states this is illegal. I think it would considered possession since you are moving the game element.

I salute you :slight_smile:

Once the Q&A opens - ask.

Yes, but the robot is also holding 3 balls on it

Isn’t there a rule that you can’t use game objects to break other rules? I’ll have to search when back on my computer, but I know where to look.

there is. <SG7> i think…

I realize my mistake. I didn’t know if they wanted to show 2 different ways possession would be illegal but I understand your point completely.

Yes, you’re right. Now that I’m at my computer I can confirm that. SG7 says

So if the robot can’t possess more than 2 balls, it can’t use a cap (a scoring object) to carry more than 2 balls (an action that would otherwise be illegal).

Good to know this will make the design process much easier!