Preload starting on top of robot

For the autonomous period, my team was looking to place the preload on top of the robot’s hood. We were hoping to use the hood flip out to lob the preload into a goal. Would that be a legal preload placement?

yep, the preload does not need to be touching the tiles, so that is good.
nice way to get off an early score as well.

6 Likes

Thanks. We were just wondering if the ball would be considered for the height limit (as the ball is considered to be an extension of the robot).

The Game Manual is your friend, and you would have found the answer quickly by just searching “preload”.

<SG1> Starting a Match. Prior to the start of each Match, the Robot must be placed such that it is:

  1. Contacting its Home Zone.
  2. Not contacting the gray foam field tiles outside of the Alliance’s Home Zone.
  3. Not contacting any Balls other than the Preload.
  4. Not contacting another Robot.
  5. Contacting exactly one (1) Preload.
    i. The Preload must be contacting exactly one (1) Robot.
    ii. The Preload must be fully within the field perimeter.
    iii. The Preload must not be breaking the vertical projection of the Goal, i.e. the Preload must not beinside or above the Goal.

Note: If a Robot is not present for their Match, then their Preload will instead be placed in the center of the gray foam tile that is closest to the double tape line that bisects the Home Zone and is opposite the half of the Home Zone from the placed Robot as shown below.

In the future, please make some effort to find the specific rule, cite it, and ask if your interpretation is correct.

13 Likes

A second common question would be “is it ok for the preload to be higher than 18” vertical limit of robot?"

I leave that as an exercise for the reader to solve :slight_smile:

9 Likes