Programming Optical shaft encoders for the lift to go to a certain height.

Hello there,

This will be our first time using optical shaft encoders on a lift using easyC.

What we want to do is press a button on the joystick and then the lift goes up to a certain height…

I have tried doing this on easyC but I am unsure on what to do as it is my first time…

Also how would I use Optical Shaft Encoders in autonomous?

I hope you can help me !

I’d recommend using a potentiometer instead.

But regardless, encoders just count ticks. Part of this will be figuring out how to setup the sensor and use it with easyC (which I don’t use so I don’t know), the other part will be some basic math which will be dependent on how your lift is setup.

In general you’ll want to figure out how many ticks per degree of travel, or inches in height, or w/e and use that to determine when to stop motors.

If you need two sets of motors to synchronize, things get more complicated.

-Cody

Hello there,

Firstly thanks for the quick reply !

I would rather program it so I can count the rotations of the dial inside the shaft encoder instead or degrees.

Thanks

However, what would be great is if someone has a sample program of how it works because I can’t seem to find one on the VEX Forum example programs…

I don’t know easyC, but perhaps if you make your way through the following:
https://vexforum.com/t/optical-shaft-encoder-programming/23063/1

By reading through how people worked their way through the aforementioned problem in the link above, and see how they developed and improved it, maybe you can get some idea of how to use encoders.

Hope that helps.

EDIT: be aware that in the thread I posted, near the end they start talking about how to hook up wires to the PIC. If you have the newer Cortex, then their talk about the PIC probably won’t apply. Their concepts in the code, however, should help you somewhat. I hope.