programming problem

I am a newbie in programming and my english language skills are rudimentary. Could anyone be kind enough to teach me how I could hold the arm position without pressing any buttons? How could this program be written? Could any of you guys provide me with a few samples for referencing? Very thanks

Welcome to the forums.

Tell us a bit more about your robot, what type of arm system do you have, how many motors etc. Also let us know which programming environment you are using and what you have tried so far.

thx for your reply.
-Our arm system is “Four-Bar”
-We are using four motors
-EasyC v4
-Actually,we read some kinds of post in this forum.They suggested to use PID or ‘add new function’ in EasyC. However, there are too difficult for us. can guys provide some simple and easiest program for us?

There are posts discussing this type of issue on the forum, here is one from last year.

https://vexforum.com/t/arm-help/19650/1

I assume your arm is lowering under the weight of the sacks and gravity. To hold the arm at a given position you need to counteract this force with an equal force pushing up. You can do this by either adding something physical, typically rubber bands, or by using the motors to apply a constant upwards force. The problem in using the motors is that they are then in a stall condition and you need to be careful they don’t overheat (by which I mean trip the internal thermal fuse) or cause the cortex/power expander PTC to trip.

There are two ways (perhaps more) to program this.

1. Use the PID control you have already read about.
  2. Instead of sending 0 to the motors send a small value that causes the arm to hold instead. This value is probably somewhere about 20 but you need to experiment. If the value needed goes over around 30 you are in the danger zone for tripping PTCs.