Programming

I need help!!! i am new to vex robotics and i have been asked to program the robot. I have the basics done, but now i would like to make a more complex program/robot. I have seen that people that have used all these cool graphs to show motor speeds and force that is on the motor, plus a table to show the amps leaveing the cortex? Any ideas how i do this??? Any one with a little bit of knowledge would be a get help to me.

using this website is very helpful for anyone to learn robotc http://www.education.rec.ri.cmu.edu/products/teaching_robotc_cortex/index.html

Thanks that is awesome. but i can find anything of what i am look for. any other ideas

well you usually start out with just the basic stuff like startmotor and then you can use if & while statements and then you can mix them together to get a more complex program

I have gone though all of that and able to make a program, but i would now like to make a graphs to do with motors

You’ll want to use a third party sensor that records amperage or force and then piece together what the robot is doing (i.e. PWM values) with whatever third party sensor you’re using.

The kind of graphs I think you are thinking of are those mapping the efficiency of a truespeed array vs the stock vex control system. But none of the programming software has any sort of thing like this built in, JPearman may be one of the most helpful users with something of this type.

This is your best option.

To create graphs of motor force vs current (or similar), you would need to 1) sense the force and the current, then 2) log this data to a file. A problem with the VEX Cortex is that there is no built-in (for the major programming languages, at least) file access. So, you’re out of luck there.

It is possible (to some extent) to transfer data over serial or through the debugger, but that might be difficult.