PROS vs ROBOTC

I’m here to clear up some confusion I have about using PROS vs ROBOTC. My organization mainly uses ROBOTC to program our robots, but I’ve noticed on the forum many fanatics of PROS–what’s so great about PROS? Is it a better platform than ROBOTC? Please make your case. :slight_smile:

Note: I’m a second year VEX student so I’m quite inexperienced with ROBOTC, therefore I’m considering whether to learn using PROS or ROBOTC.

PROS is more similar to C that is used in industry. It also has great developer support, and since so many of the good teams that are active on the forum use it, you can probably find help from them, too. Also, if someone asks for help with RobotC, you can tell them you don’t know how to help them and save some time. (I’m joking, I still try to help them.)

PROS can be integrated with just about any IDE due to its command line interface. RobotC code can neither be compiled nor downloaded outside of the official “IDE.”

While I do not like Atom, the IDE recommended by the PROS team, I still prefer PROS to RobotC primarily because I can easily use PROS with Visual Studio, my preferred IDE.

Additionally, as @Aponthis said, PROS uses an industry-standard C/C++ compiler instead of a proprietary one and lets you use full-on, unrestricted C++ if you so choose.

Additionally, PROS’s support for gyroscopes is really good.

Please be sure to run a search on a relevant keyword, like ‘pros’, in the forum search box before posting though. It saves a lot of time on both ends, and a lot of questions about PROS have already been asked. There currently exists large quantities of information on the forum about PROS vs ROBOTC vs other programming options, etc.

Or you find people like me who use both almost equally as much.