Pushing cubes across the autonomous line

Just as I was afraid, we are at a local tournament, and even after showing the official ruling the head referee is opting to interpret it differently.

Moving cubes to the opponent side will not forfeit the autonomous bonus. It would only do so if it interferes with the opposing robot.

That’s unfortunate. I sure hope Vex clarifies this ruling once and for all.

1 Like

I think they’ve clarified this as much as they plan to.

https://www.robotevents.com/VRC/2019-2020/QA/405
https://www.robotevents.com/VRC/2019-2020/QA/446
https://www.robotevents.com/VRC/2019-2020/QA/479

Honestly, at this point I think they mean exactly what we think they mean and that any “different interpretation” is just people who disagree with the GDC’s answer. That isn’t how it works, though - disagree or not, refs have to follow what is stated. It seems clear that the GDC is saying that if a cube goes over the line you lose the auton, whether the other team has even moved or not.

Direct quote from q&a:

Interaction with foam tiles, regardless of whether it affects a Robot’s autonomous routine or not, is always considered a violation of SG2. As you quoted, all violations of SG2 result in the Autonomous Bonus being awarded to the opposing Alliance.

14 Likes

Contact your rsm if refs in your region refuse to follow the official rules of the game.

11 Likes

I don’t think the word “unintentional” is emphasized enough in any of the q&a’s descriptions, but hey, rules are rules.

1 Like

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.