Question about pushing one alliance triball into opponent's goal during auton

Hello everyone,

Assuming my robot starts in the opponent’s offending zone, since my robot has an alliance triball, can my robot push it into the opponent’s goal to get 5 points? I was told that my robot cannot touch the opponent’s goal, but I didn’t find any specific rule for it. Any help would be highly appreciated.

You can push it in during the autonomous portion due to rule SG8 d. I recommend you read the manual instead of taking someone else’s word for it.

2 Likes

I can’t delete my previous response so I’m making another one. I reread the rules and SG8 d has some contradictory wording

d. This rule only applies during the Driver Controlled Period. Entering an opponent’s Goal is not permitted at any time during the Autonomous Period.

The first sentence contradicts the second sentence. It may be worth making a QA.

1 Like

I don’t see any contradiction.
The robot don’t need to enter into the goal to score the triball.

The way I interpret it, this rule is just to ensure robots do not camped underneath the opponent’s goal (when it is not double team) and push the triballs out.

3 Likes

My robot would not camp under goal. However, in oder to push the triball into the goal, part of my robot will enter then goal for a very short period of time, and meanwhile also touch the horizontal bar of the goal. I am not sure if this is allowed or not.

I just re-read the relevant rules again, and I must say that @EcstaticPilot is not wrong to suggest a formal Q&A.

What I have mentioned is still true, ie. the robot can use the flat edge to push the triball inside the opponents’ goal without the need of entering the goal.

I do think the spirit of this rule is just to prevent descoring when there is no double-zoning, but the rule has explicitly mentioned that there should be strictly no entering of opponents’ goal during autonomous period.

So my concern is there is no definition of what is consider as “entering”. Is it when the wheel is inside the goal? Or just any parts of the robot (including the intake)?

If GDC’s intention is no parts of the robot should even go pass the plane of the goal, then we will need a VAR for the referees to make the call.

4 Likes

I’m surprised that’s not q&a’d yet but if you go perfectly by the book, then you must take precautions to stay completely out of the opponent’s goal. I say this because SG8c says teams are responsible for the actions of their robots and SG8d says entering an opponent’s Goal is not permitted at any time during the Autonomous Period. So in my eyes, entering an opponents goal during auton to score a triball is a minor violation and a loss of auton. No reason not to Q&A it tho…

Hello,
My team was disqualified for entering the opponent’s goal. The bot was 1-2 inches inside the horizontal bar and I did not receive any kind of warning but direct disqualification. I think this rule should be more deeply expanded upon and have specific conditions if the reason for entering the goal was not to gain an unfair advantage. In the second tournament, my bot entered the goal plane but I also coded it to pull back outside after scoring a triball so that it does not look that it is a violation. I still received a warning for a violation even though the referee did not notice it.

The interaction of an opponent’s goal during autonomous is made more clear when other rules are applied, as mentioned in this Q&A: Entering opponents goal : Robot Events.

For the first scenario that you’ve outlined with the direct disqualification, this could potentially be from multiple minor violations of SG8 from multiple matches or if the SG8 violation is match-affecting (if the disqualification was awarded at the end of the match) but I’m personally unsure as to which.

Given that this is still a violation, I don’t think there’s much you can do so long as the referee did give you a warning for violating this rule.

1 Like

Okay, so at the tournaments I have been at, alliance partners have accidentally broken this rule. Basically, the rule says that you may score in the opponent’s goal with your triball as long as your robot does not break the plane or the 3d area of the goal. So you can score just don’t make your robot go into the goal at all.

1 Like

Thank you I get all your points, but it’s not possible for the way my bot is build to exceed the goal plane a little so I’ll just stick with not getting a point in the auton to be safe.

1 Like

Sure! Alternatively, you could think of a way to make it so that the robot will get ‘caught’ on the side/front bar of the goal if you have a flat end of your robot such that it prevents the robot from entering the goal in the first place. (This wouldn’t be a good idea for flat robots who intend on being able to descore triballs)

From all of the tournaments I’ve been to, rule is rarely enforced and would only be done so for more significant violations, so this could depend.

1 Like

yeah we made our robot go under the net to be able to descore :sweat_smile: :joy:
So there’s no flat side that can get caught up.

I agree. In most tournaments that my team has been at it isn’t enforced much. Especially if your robot goes fast and backs out quickly. I did see one game where there was a warning, but that’s all I’ve seen.

1 Like

While I agree that this rule is seldom strictly enforced, my concern is how strict will the ref be during worlds?

2 Likes

My guess is very. We called this very closely at the signature event. Especially after the Q&A that has come out talking about how it can affect autonomous, and the fact that if you do enter the opponent’s goal, you can’t get the AWP.

5 Likes

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.