Hey,
I have a question regarding the vex rules and would like an answer. So we have a situation where we have to take a part of the tray off in skills but put it back on for the tournament. Is it legal, since in the rule book doesn’t say anything about it being illegal to my understanding? I am referring to page 23 in the game manual.
Read <R1> and <R2>
I think it might be legal because you cannot change you robot in a comp that much but the rules are very vague. I have seen a team do this and the referee did not notice. The rule that specifies this is <R1>
EDIT: changed judges to referee
Rule G5 and G11. I believe that this would be considered illegal as it’s “match effecting”.
I have no idea how you are making the connection between removing part of the robot between matches with G5 and G11.
John answered the question succinctly, only <R1> and <R2> apply to the question.
this would be perfectly legal. you are not creating a new robot, therefore it’s fine.
I wouldn’t expect the judges to notice, because they are busy with interviews for judged awards. The referees, on the other hand, will want to ensure that the robot has been inspected in all configurations in accordance with rule r1 and r2 as stated above.
Thanks for telling me I changed it.
Just need to make sure that you passed inspection in both configurations.
Normally during inspection, you can inform the person doing the inspection that you will be removing one section of the tray during skills, and show it to the person in-charge and get it inspected as well.