Question About VGU4

If I already have Triballs in the preload zone, and my robot can pick them up directly from there, could I introduce new preloads by ‘pushing’ the existing ones with the new Triball so that they can be picked up by my robot, without applying direct force, but rather vertically?

Assuming you are in high school or middle school, you are allowed to place the triball directly into your robot. You are not allowed to push it with other tribals as far as I’m aware.

This is a VEX U question. In VEX U you cannot directly place into the robot

1 Like

“Yes, it is in the VEX U category, and what I mean is that, for example, the Triballs are already placed, occupying all the space, and you introduce a new Triball by pushing the ones that are there. Before you place it on the floor, the Triball at the end, for example, is already grabbed by the robot. You wouldn’t be touching the robot or the Triball that the robot is in contact with. It’s more like a chain reaction where one Triball ‘pushes’ another Triball, but not directly, rather indirectly.”

My assumption would be no, since the SG6 rule 1 that Vex U follows says it must be introduced “By placing the Match Load gently onto a Match Load Zone.” The CJC Q&A responses related to match loads are mostly talking about placing ‘onto’ the robot (for VRC), however the one regarding ‘gently’ would seem to also apply here. That Q&A indicates that you can’t push down your catapult with a triball because that wouldn’t meet the definition / intent of ‘gentle’.
https://www.robotevents.com/VRC/2023-2024/QA/1589

That said - it’s a very specific Vex U nuance you are asking, so if you think it is allowed but want to verify you should do an official Q&A to get a ‘real’ answer!

1 Like

I’m from Paraguay, but don’t have access to send a Question in Q&A Site

This topic was automatically closed 365 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.