Questions on LEDS and Integrated Shaft encoders

I am new to programming VEX this year and i have some questions. 1) How do you program LEDs? 2) How do you program integrated shaft encoders with a velocity and not a power lever?
Thanks guys

There’s a few conversations regarding velocity control that are very helpful.
Flywheel Velocity Control
Flyhweel Velocity Control Revisited
Calculate RPM for Flywheel

I use this, which takes how many ticks the encoder has read in 20 milliseconds. Works nicely, however it has issues with multi court speeds. (It goes backwards for 1 seconds before going back up to speed.) (Not trying to hijack a conversation, but does anyone know how to fix this?)

//Global Variables
int target = -0; //Target value (Ticks)
int integrator = 0; //Integrator value
int Sensor_last = 0; // Previous sensor reading
int Sensor_Currant = 0;   // Currant sensor reading
int Velocity_Currant = 0; // Currant speed
int Velocity_Error = 0; // Error in the speed
int Motor_Out = 0; //Motor Output
float KI = 0.027; //Gain constant
//________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
//Flywheel Task

task Flywheel_System()
  {
  while(true)
	{
//====================================================

//sensor cache
	Sensor_Currant = -SensorValue[Rotationsensor];
	Velocity_Currant = Sensor_Currant - Sensor_last;
	Sensor_last = Sensor_Currant;
//---------------------------------------------------------
	//Error Calculation
	Velocity_Error = target - Velocity_Currant;
	//Add to the integrator
	integrator += (Velocity_Error * KI);
	//Cap the Integrator at 127
	if (integrator > 127){ integrator = 127;}
	if (integrator < -127){integrator = -127;}
	//Set integrator to motors
	Motor_Out = integrator;
	motor[FlyM1] = Motor_Out;
	motor[FlyM2] = Motor_Out;
//----------------------------------------------------------
	wait1Msec(20);
  }//ends loop
  }
//___________________

Thank you this helps a lot.