R7C: Regarding Bolts

Dear VEX Community,

After perusing this thread https://vexforum.com/showthread.php?t=84154 Would you please go through the following list of bolts and advise me which are legal?

Otherwise I will assume they all are. :wink:

Thanks,

Jason

P.S. The drawing is from the Pacific Fasteners Catalog. The first page is actually a nice reference for the different names of a variety of nuts, bolts and screws.
Pacific Fasteners.JPG

Judging from what Karthik said, you are able to use any nut that is identical to one sold by vex, meaning keps or nylock. However, I’m by no means an expert on the rule.

I would assume that they are all legal as well, but take special care not to break any other rules and respect the rulings of your local judges.

Take special care with Wing Nut, Push Nut, Coupling Nut (as to not use it as a standoff), Pal Nut, and the T Nuts for Channels (could be unsafe, or damage the field).
These nuts do not seem to be

The rest of the nuts do seem to be reasonable though.

I laughed when I saw the picture of all of the weird bolts that you attached, but all of those are not commercially available, and therefore not legal :wink: :smiley:

Yeah, you’ve kind of got to click on the image to get the joke. :slight_smile: Technically, they are listed in the Pacific Fasteners catalog, but I have yet to try ordering one!

Jason

<R7> Robots are allowed the following additional “non-VEX” components:
C. Any commercially available #4, #6, #8, M2, M2.5, M3 or M4 screw up to 2" long, and any
commercially available nut to fit these screws. /quote/

to me, this rule is contrary to what karthik has briefly explained saying, only a “reasonable replacement” is legal. shouldn’t this be changed in the game new game manual?:confused: