Real World Digital Notebooks

This is a question to mentors/professional engineers. In your career, when you use Digital Notebooks, how do you do them? What technologies do you use? Do you have any tips?

Thanks!

I’m not a pro, but maybe with digital notebooks I would take a LCD panel and glue it into the binder and have a battery with a 3 ring binder to keep power. This way the chances of the LCD dying are very low, but also it will make it so that you can’t lose a laptop of something. You can also put a rasberry Pi with a custom OS to view the file (such as a typed notebook).

I typically write all my documents in a normal word processor (MS Word/LibreOffice), then print it to a PDF to keep people from editing it. I usually keep the original word documents on my personal drive and only ever share the PDF’s.

My internet connection is having a crisis and i hope i ended up posting all that once, not three times or zero times…

In a manufacturing environment especially large corporate ones you’ll have a database like PLEX that you have your projects split up in.

So you’ll have:

project A
project B
Project C

inside those folders are your CAD files meeting notes, your notes and all of it is version controlled. when you make a change, it date stamps it and save the old copies so you have that historical record Vex wants to have so badly.

where i work now its just a server with a lot of folders, no real control on versions, but we don’t do so much design in what I do now.

I’ll say I’ve never had hand written notes for anything more than today “to do” list.

I’d mostly prefer that Vex note books prepared students for the note taking you’ll need to take in college to survive. Every bit of that was done pen and paper with 3 ring binders. My first year was basically spent perfecting a note taking process, that had i already had that foreknowledge my cumulative GPA would have been a little better.