I have a question about the following rule:
< G16> Robots are not allowed to removed Rings from the Bonus Tray when it is not Released. Minor violations of this rule that do not affect the match will result in a warning. Major (score affecting) offenses will result in a Disqualification. Teams that receive multiple warnings may also receive a Disqualification at the Head Referee’s discretion.
This rule states that rings cannot be removed from the bonus tray before it is released.
The definition of “released” states
Released – The Bonus Tray is Released when both Latches have been activated such that there are no more Rings contacting the Bonus Tray (i.e. the Bonus Tray is empty).
If the robot pushes one latch on one side, slides something through the rings and then pushes the second latch to release, is that ok? Everyone wants to prevent all the rings from rolling all over the field. As long as the rings are not lifted or moved out of the tray before both latches are pushed, it should be ok, right? Once you push the second latch, the rings should roll out. You are preventing it and moving them out in a controlled way. Is this still OK?
It is my understanding that “released” means that both latches need to be pushed down and tray needs to be empty. How the rings roll out controlled or not controlled is not an issue. I could catch them before they roll out or I can slide something through them to lift them out.