Robot arm and scooper

Please tell me if this is in the wrong spot.

I am very new to Vex, and have a starter kit, with a few extra parts. I want to build a bot, which is completely autonomous, based off the square bot (I already have the squarebot built). I have a line tracker kit, EasyC programming kit, an extra servo and motor. My goal is to create a bot that can scoop a pile of something up, follow a line, and then dump it. Follow the line back and repeat. I am looking for guidance on building the “arm” with a small box scooper on the end of it. Right now I have 2 motors and 2 servos, as well as a small spare gear kit. Being a newbie, I was hoping someone with experience could help me figure out how to do an arm. I have drawn out some ideas on a notepad, but I really dont know what would be necessary to create it. My design ideas have a servo right before the scooper (maybe 4" before it or so), used to straighten the arm. Also, a servo at the scooper, used to rotate it for dumping.

I really apologize for such a long post, but any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You in advance,
Jason

Hi Jason,

It sounds like your design probably would work for this job. I’m not sure what you mean by “a servo…used to straighten the arm”, perhaps a lever?

Personally if I were doing this project I’d first consider the weigh of the object I will be picking up. In this case, I’m not sure how heavy the pile is, but you may need to gear the servo for extra torque in order to have the strength to lift it. Then you run into a problem with the servo only being able to move 120 degrees.

I guess my only suggestion is to try and build the arm first. Experiment with it, and change your design accordingly.